Swag bag!

So you might remember me mentioning I wanted to sort out some kind of bag for the con, curse you Yuna and your lack of bag/pockets! I had quite a lot of skirt and obi fabric going spare so I figured I could make a bag out of it to match the outfit.

Sadly I forgot to take pictures of making it, but I followed this tutorial from 30 minute crafts. I followed it exactly except for how I made the strap and I didn’t use any padding on the bag. I used the same dimensions too, I placed everything I wanted to put in the bag on top of the pattern to see if I could make it smaller but it was just the right size as it was. To make my strap, I cut a length of skirt fabric 36 inches long, and 3 inches wide. The obi fabric I did the same length but just 2 inches wide. I drew a line in chalk pencil down the center of each, and folded each edge into the middle, and ironed it closed onto hemming web to glue it. (Saved me sewing it!) Then I placed the yellow and purple straps together, covering the seam in the center of each, and used hemming web to glue them again. Then I sewed them to the bag as the tutorial guides.

It makes quite a nice bag on it’s own but since I also had plenty of fabric paint left I decided to paint a pattern on to match the skirt too. I just made up a pattern in the same style. Drew it on with chalk pencil and painted it the same way as I did the skirt.

Yay! Now I don’t have to feel like a jerk making my friend carry my junk. I wanted a bag for a water bottle, my large (and awesome) Loungefly Pikachu purse, my cosplay repair kit (needle, threads, glue, scissors etc), contact lens case, eye drops, mobile phone, keys. Can probably fit a bit of con swag in there too. Huzzah!

I’ve had a couple of people say they would buy one of these, maybe if they generate enough interest I might see if I can make a few more of them.

Until next time!

Kaelah~

Author: Kaelah

I'm a 27 year old mother of 2, living in the UK. Lover of video games & devouorer of cookies.

Leave a Reply

